Tekne Awards celebrate Minnesota innovation and technology

November 1, 2012

MHTA – The Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA) honored fifteen of Minnesota’s innovators and technology leaders during last night’s 2012 Tekne Awards ceremony at the Minneapolis Convention Center. The Tekne Awards honor companies, innovations and individuals with technological breakthroughs that positively impact the lives and futures of people living in Minnesota and all over the world.

2012 Tekne Award Recipients Watch the Tekne ceremony 2012 Tekne Award Finalists

“The 2012 recipients epitomize technology and innovation leadership,” said Margaret Anderson Kelliher, president of MHTA. “Over the last thirteen years, the Tekne Awards have truly highlighted Minnesota as an emerging technology powerhouse and increased awareness for the innovators and technological front-runners throughout the state.”

Tekne Awards were presented to 15 of Minnesota’s most influential companies in technological innovation, development, commercialization and management. Three of the twelve categories included separate awards for small and growing businesses (with annual revenues under $50 million) and established businesses (with annual revenues of $50 million or more).

The MHTA Foundation also announced the recipients of its annual scholarships as part of the awards ceremony. Scholarships were awarded to top undergraduate students that excel in programs geared toward science, technology, engineering and math disciplines (STEM). Foundation scholarship recipients included: Katherine (Katy) Anderson of Duluth, Krista Barzen-Hanson of Grand Rapids, Emily Campion of Rice, Bradley Hensel of Duluth, Maria Koroleva of Maple Grove, Adam Matula of Kimberly, Wis., Kelsey Nelson of Duluth, Etonam (Fanny) Okaikue of St. Anthony, April Rollins of Duluth, Benjamin Ruter of Raymond, Matthew Schmidtbauer of Anoka, James Trevathan of Apple Valley, Jay Turner of Ashby, Kelsey Weiers of New Prague, and Jenna Zimmerman of Johnson.

Hosted by Don Shelby, the evening also featured the induction of the newest class into the Minnesota Science and Technology (MST) Hall of Fame. This year’s inductees include entrepreneurs, professors, inventors, researchers and scientists who have impacted the field of technology on a global scale. The MHTA honored Dr. Reatha Clark King, Neil Robert Lincoln, Dr. Isaak Maurits Kolthoff, Oscar Herbert Schmitt and Newton Horace Winchell for their achievements in science and technology. For additional information on the MST Hall of Fame inductees, please visit MSTHallofFame.org.


  • Coming up on 12/6: Join MHTA and a panel of local CIO and CTOs for a wide-ranging discussion of the year’s top deve… https://t.co/arJPsqaXEY
  • RT @MNIT_Services: Proud to add these beautiful #TekneAwards to the portfolio. Thanks for the recognizing Commissioner Baden and the Food B…
  • RT @AndrewJonesARC: Thanks @MHTA for putting on a great event for this year's Tekne Awards! https://t.co/XzPlNu5DBp
  • RT @MNagriculture: MDA and @MNIT_Services receives @MHTA 2017 Tekne Award for Community Impact for Food Business Licensing & Food Safety Wi…
  • RT @Arcserve: We're honored by the recognition -- and even more so by the organizations who put their trust in us. https://t.co/SSXzezqwA5
Follow Us ›